Chrissy

.

I was drawing a girl with big fake red hair and her face came out looking like Chrissy, a girl I had not thought about in years.  She was 14 years old when she gave birth to a baby boy back when my daughter was little.  The father of her baby was some passing through loser that seduced a child to the tune of “Turn the Page.”  Her family stood by her, but they were poor hill people, barely had a pot to piss in.   Chrissy did the best she could with what she had.  When she ran out of diapers, she did not hit anyone up for money.  She sent a friend over to ask if I could spare two diaper pins.  I figured that she must have had some cloth diapers but when I saw her a couple days later with that babe on her hip, she had his behind diapered with an old plaid flannel shirt.  He’d be grown now.

Welcome to Appalachia Ohio, where people will survive any economic downturns as they already know how to made do.  This drawing took me on a trip down memory lane.

Thank you for viewing my art today!

8 Responses

  1. Good story.

  2. Wow, such a sad story. A reminder that we need to continue supporting Planned Parenthood.

    • Oh for sure! Those who are so staunchly against Planned Parenthood have no concept of the realities of life as lived by other people. In some areas, Planned Parenthood is the only option for birth control, STD testing, and education about female matters for impoverished women.

  3. I was reading a post on facebook about all the different stiffling laws many states folk are trying to get made about a woman’s choice. My gosh, is the world not crowded enough without people trying to make women keep babies that may be deformed, born of incest or rape? Many of the states are trying to make is so employers can decide weather to provide coverage for contraception or not according to their religious beliefs! OMG! It is just appalling and down right horrifying. Not that I feel abortion should be the go to problem solver, but in some instances, it should be readily available, especially for the improverished who can barely make it. And some states are trying to cut funding, well they will just be adding more children to the welfare roles. Ok, stepping down from soap box now. I guess you can tell I am Pro Choice, lol.

    • I’ve been pro-choice ever since a childhood friend had an unsanitary back alley abortion before Roe vs. Wade, so keeping abortion legal means keeping safe medical options available for desperate women. It is a personal matter… a decision between a woman, her mate (if he is involved), her doctor, and her God – none of the government’s business. What is ironic is that most of the anti-choice a.k.a. pro-life people are the same people who hate big government, they want government out of their daily lives, yet want government to dictate what goes on inside a woman’s body. Okay, I’m just sharing your soap box. If you want to get really mad, read “Backlash, The Undeclared War Against American Women” by Susan Faludi. It is an old book now… but worth a re-read, especially since we can read with hindsight having lived and observed what has happened since the book was written 20 years ago.

      • I have enough to be angry about with out going back 20 years. I am more of a hide my head in a hole kind of person, be it right or wrong, I am not likely to change at this late date. I am more involved than I used to be, at least I am doing more reading, the internet makes it hard not to do that. I used to be better at hiding from all the pain and depression out there. Not good, I know, I have my own deamons to wrestle with. The weight of the world hurts, and I long for “greener pastures” of a utopian world. I believe we can heal the planet if more would try, I am a “glass is half full of water and half full of air, so by rights it is 100% full” sort of gal at heart. My rose colored glasses are permenantly implanted in my heart of hearts spirit. Yeah, call it “fantasy land mentality”, I am guilty. http://www.starhawksblog.org This blog is a good example of how I see posibilities. Long term vague maybies. I have not evereadvery far into the blog, but started reading the first story in it. Yeah, one can wish, and dream.

  4. Thanks for the link, Cilipower! Oh, you make me smile with your 100% full as your answer to that question about the half glass of water. It always evoked more questions for me… like what color is the glass and how does the sunlight filtering through the water dance across the floor? :)

Comments

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 206 other followers

