Tomorrow

.

I was going to post this yesterday but the night shades closed my eyes and I drifted off to sleep without turning on this computer.  In my last post, I said something about telling you about the public art project “tomorrow” and now it is today, so I named this Tomorrow.

I hopped the early bus yesterday, transferring at the station downtown, and pulled the cord to exit when I saw the Butler Institute of American Art start to sneak past the window.  My destination, Youngstown State University’s Bliss Hall, was directly across the street.  I walked in on ground level thinking that I was on the first floor, but had to take the elevator down to the Box Office to turn in two signed contracts – one for me and one for a neighbor – and picked up supplies for the public art project.

This is the first year that I am participating in the public art project for YSU’s Summer Festival of the Arts.  It is what it is, a public art project.  Any artist can participate.   The theme is “Twenty Twelve” and “Art Youngstown” supplied the two-foot by three-foot canvas to make a flag. (Last year, they supplied metal circles to make ornaments for a “Here Comes the Sun” theme.)  They are talking about wrapping finished flags around trees as a way to display them during the two-day event.

The format is vertical (2 ft. wide, 3 ft. long) and the supplied “canvas” is bright yellow and feels like a plastic tarp.  (Yes, like one of those blue things that you throw over stuff while you are camping so your gear stays relatively dry.)This presents a challenge so I asked for an extra canvas.  (There are “no mistakes in art” so if I flubber one up, it will get remodeled and used anyway.)  I have until July 5th to complete them.

I was home by noon and spent the afternoon testing waterproof top coats to see if I can do what I want – use colored pencils then spent hours prepping the canvas for pencils as I cannot color on plastic.   It is not done yet.   Then I prepped the “spare” canvas with gesso left over from my painting days, as odds are that I will end up painting on that one.   There was just enough gesso left in the tub for Joe’s canvas.  We are going to add gromlets in the four corners so the plastic will not tear if/when hung or tied to a tree.   He has grand ideas for his already…  my own ideas are still floating around in limbo, not sure exactly where they will go yet.

This should be a fun project.  The colored pencil flag will definitely be a challenge.  I’m used to drawing on heavy paper cut to 2-1/2 x 3-1/2 INCHES… this is 2 x 3 FEET.  I’m going to have to draw BIG.

It is about time that I participated in something artsy.  I’ve been skating under the radar for years… haven’t entered a show or anything since… oh geez, 1998?  Except the Art Bra Event, that was only a couple of years ago.  It took First Place Mixed Media and was auctioned off for a cancer charity.  This flag thing is just for fun.

Did I ever show you my Art Bra?  It was made of leather, copper, and beads… with bent wire straps that could be removed if someone wanted to wear it.   Yes, it was made with rolled smooth edges so as not to cause injury if someone wanted to play amazon woman and try it on… on that note, I’ll end with a slide show that might bring a smile.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Thank you for viewing my art today!

7 Responses

  1. thanks for keeping us abreast of your past work :) and good luck on the flag project, I can’t imagine filling a surface that large with coloured pencils – look forward to seeing your solution…

    • Abreast? Oh gosh… thanks for the laugh. As for the colored pencil flag, I’m going to let it become whatever it wants to be as I’m not going to color for the sake of filling in every square inch.

      • So the question is, to what extent will you wave the flag? :)

  2. Love the bra! Does it come in my size? ;)

  3. Yowza. What a bra! That can’t be comfortable, even without the straps. Fun though. Look forward to seeing the flag when it is done.

    • Oh, the cups are soft, buttery suede with smooth, veg tanned leather covering the side seams and the closure hooks face outward to make the back more comfy, but you are right – that underwire is unforgiving. :) Yes, I had a blast making it and the photos still make me smile. Thanks!

Comments

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 209 other followers

