Censored Art

When we think of censorship, we tend to think of OTHER people doing the censoring, blacking out written words, forbidden books or films, spoken words bleeped for FCC compliance, banned this and banned that… but my thoughts today slide towards self-censored things.

Today’s art was self-censored with a Sharpie Rub-a-Dub Laundry Marker. Does it mean what was blacked out was bad? Maybe… maybe not.  Maybe there is nothing there.  Of course, the laundry marker does not fully conceal everything so it is obvious that there is something there.  The black hides the colors that I choose not to reveal.  It hides what I want it to hide.

I am showing you only what I want you to see.

There are people, groups, and organizations that reveal only what they want you to see.  Trust your gut, your intuition, whatever you want to call it.  If a politician is too smooth, if a plan sounds too good, if you feel like something isn’t quite right… gleam for the truth.

Hidden things tend to surface sooner or later.  It may be good, it may be bad, or it may be nothing… time will tell.

6 Responses

  1. Seems like I’ve been trying to scrape the black marker off of all kinds of things for the past few days. With all of the flashing images constantly streaming around us I think it’s easy for people to fall out of the habit at looking beyond face value. It may be our brain’s way of trying to protect us by filtering things but that may end up being really dangerous if we start to operated under too much filtered/distorted information. Especially right now with so much going on around us at once…

    Really awesome artwork and post to go with it. If there was a *love it!* button, I’d click it 100 times! 🙂

  2. Oh thank you! I’m glad you like my art. Good luck with your research.

  3. Good point……I have seen a lot of politicians lately picking and choosing only what they want us to see….I prefer to follow my instincts on whether a person is hiding something or not….I can usually tell when they are.

    • Yes, trust your own instincts. I think too many people start doubting what they know inside after they hear something contrary repeated 50,000 times. Thanks for commenting!

  4. I like that little black spiral in the corner…

Comments

