Blush Over Addiction

I must give you fair warning: this blog may go a bit down the strange road for a while as I am trying to free myself from addiction and as you all know, my emotional state tends to come out in the art.

I am well armed with nicotine patches and lozenges, eggnog nips, mini candy canes, lollipops, cinnamon sticks, tic tacs, and plastic drinking straws cut to the length of a cigarette and rolled in paper mailing label stickers. So far, the straws seem to be the best diversion alternative because I inhale deeper than I naturally breathe and taking a deep breath may be good for the lungs, even if sucked in through a straw.

I honestly don’t know if I can do this. Day One was not a good day.

7 Responses

  1. I am so happy you are at this fork in the road! I support you with me non-smoking heart! If I could do it, you can do it, and I did it, so you do it! Hell yeah! Sounds like you are set for a seige, nail the door shut, don’t answer the phone….! Uh, just one more thing, freedom is beautiful.

    • Oh Cecilia, I should have nailed the door and ignored the phone. Day two and I’m still not there yet. Thanks for the support!

  2. Go, Nancy go! Draw like mad if you have to. Nicotine is hard to quit but people do quit everyday: my best friend quit when her husband-to-be told her it was the only change he would ever ask her to make. He’s kept his word and every year she gets a special present on the anniversary of her quit date. For what it’s worth, you have my support — it will make such a difference in your health and in your pocketbook.

    • Thanks for the support, Sharyn! How thoughtful of your friend’s husband to remember her quit date with a special gift. I don’t have a husband so I’ll just have to treat myself. 😀

  3. Good luck, Nancy! It is a hard path to quit the nicotine, but you can do it! And should make for some interesting art too. 🙂 My best to you in this!

    • Thanks for the encouragement! I guess we’ll see what happens. 😀

  4. One of the effects of some mental illnesses is to make it hard to see your condition for what it really is.

Comments

