Here Kitty

Yeah… here kitty kitty, want a fishy fishy wishy?

Sorry Jai.  I know that you were expecting me to draw like the whole cat when you suggested this drawing, but I have to be like in a mood to do anything remotely realistic.  Today, I am in a silly cartoonish/abstract mood… yeah, BIG cat, lol.

Now a note for everyone else:  there is a big cat running around down there in Perry Township with sightings near where I used to live.  They think it is a mountain lion.  When I saw it a couple of years ago, I thought it was a bobcat because I did not see the tail.  Who knows?  Maybe there is a mountain lion AND a bobcat running around down there?

Anyway, it has been on the news.  So far, they have been searching fields and found tracks that look like big cat paw prints.  I think they should set up dusk to dawn surveillance on the dumpsters behind the apartment buildings just in from the bypass off Georgetown Road.  The cat I saw was standing in the parking lot just a few feet from the dumpster at ye about 4:30 AM, during that wee hour quiet time on a cold night.  I had walked outside to wait on a taxi, hit the sidewalk about to walk down to check my mail, saw that cat and froze.   It just stood there a minute, then leaped up on to the top and then down over the back of the dumpster.

Funny how it takes a reliable witness – someone who works at the sheriff’s office – for the sighting of a big cat to be taken seriously.   I told a few people, but did not call to report it, as I did not think anyone believed me anyway.   I guess it ran across the road in front of her car, definitely a big cat with a long tail.  For the life of me, I can’t recall seeing a tail on the cat I saw… so who knows?  Maybe it is the same cat, but then again, maybe it is not?

4 Responses

  1. I like your interpretation of a cat. It leaves much to the imagination. Have they caught the mountain lion? I can’t imagine running into one, or even a bobcat for that matter. Yikes.

    • Thank you! As far as I know, they have not found it yet.

  2. I love this drawing. It’s like how the officials don’t quite believe there’s a big cat out there, unless they see it (as you said). Every once in a while we’ll get a big cat or a bear where I live. Oh, I’d loved to see them. 🙂

  3. Thanks! I can imagine you out with your camera hoping to capture a photo.

Comments

