Untitled, ATC #265

Wax on, wax off… burnishing with a white wax-based Prismacolor pencil over wax-free Polychromos, and then coming back, but only in select areas, with the Polychromos again.

I love Polychromos, but they layer best as dark over light, so burnishing with a light or white pencil over dark does not have the same effect as with other brands of pencils.  So, today’s art was pretty much experimental.  I’m not too thrilled with the results.

If you are curious about the new 50/50 page, I joined the fiftyfifty.me challenge after reading about it on Monica’s blog.

Thank you for viewing my art today!

4 Responses

  1. I just read about burnishing for the first time this week (I know, my art education is woefully deficient). I’ll have to try it. Instead, I labeled all of my tubes of pigment this week and have been painting many blues straight from the tube for tomorrow’s painting — really fun.

  2. What a rich landscape! Looks like the sun is setting.
    Thank you so much, Nancy, for joining the Fifty Fifty challenge. Good for you!!

  3. You may not be thrilled with the results but I think it is gorgeous!

  4. Thanks for the comments and kind words… my apologies for taking so long to reply. I’ve been AWOL for a few days.

Comments

