L is for… LONGING

a352a

L is for LONGING
creeping into the night
when the one the heart loves
remains out of sight.

~

“You know that place between sleep and awake, the place where you can still remember dreaming? That’s where I’ll always love you, Peter Pan. That’s where I’ll be waiting.”  ~  Tink

~

I wake alone.  Armed with two pencils, I walk across the street to get a cup of coffee and find a bench as a place to start today’s drawing.  The air smells like rain coming, the warmth deceptive.  Tomorrow, after the storm rolls through, will be cold.  Birds, traffic, conversations and flags whipping on the breeze, typical city noises.  The gray skies, cold pressed paper (not my fave, hot pressed is smoother), Van Dyck Brown or Cinnamon?

Zimtbraun, which may be German for Cinnamon as Faber-Castell pencils are made in Germany, touches the paper first, lightly dusting, laying down color, creating an under-drawing.  I have no idea what it will become.  My former future faux whatever son-in-law (who knows what they are doing?) arrives with ice cream.  Low fat, reduced calorie Moose Tracks?  I’m not dieting, sure hope they didn’t skimp on the fudge swirl.

Back inside, up the elevator, where a hundred colors and faded photographs await.  L comes to me.

 

BeesATC is participating in the Blogging from A to Z April Challenge.
Thank you for viewing my art today!

2 Responses

  1. That line you closed with is brilliant. The whole post is, but to close it so powerfully … that was super original, bringing up the L ever so casually.
    Enjoyed the visit.
    Silvia @
    SilviaWrites

    • Wow. I almost deleted that closing line, but I could not think of another way to write it. Thank you!

Comments

