U is for… UNUSUAL

wpid-img_20140424_155451-1.jpg

U is for UNUSUAL
as in try something new
It doesn’t have to be unique
if it is something you usually don’t do.

So, what is so unusual about this edge of night scene?

It is a colored pencil drawing and it is not on paper.
It is on a 2.5 x 3.5 inch thin slice of Sassafras
with the colors rubbed into the wood grain
with a little bit of virgin coconut oil.

Is that “allowed”?  I don’t know… are there rules?

I am kind of curious to see what happens.
Will it darken or lighten over time?
Will the oil go bad?
Will it mold?

.

 

BeesATC is participating in the Blogging from A to Z April Challenge.

7 Responses

  1. This is beautiful! Trying something new can only be a good thing. It would be interesting to see how the painting evolves over time and if it looks different a few months down the line than it does now, as you say, maybe darker, maybe lighter.

    I actually tried my hand at painting recently (yesterday) – I am a dreadful painter, and my attempt was really poor but it was such an interesting experience in terms of understanding creativity. And it provided me with a subject for a blog post, so not all bad,

    Visiting from A to Z, hope you’ll pop by and say hello!

    • I decided to visit your blog before replying to your comment and glad I did as your photos are fabulous (still amazed at your journey as I can’t imagine walking those hills!) And I so enjoyed your writing.

      As for this art, I do believe it will lighten, as it seems a bit lighter today and more dry to the touch. Thanks for visiting!

      • Thank you for visiting, glad you liked the photos! Hiking was pretty knackering, but so worth it to see those sights.

        It’s really interesting to create a piece of art that then evolves with time, it adds another dimension to it in a way. As if the piece is coming to life!

  2. Yes! I’m a big believer in that bit about “do something that scares you every day”. It doesn’t have to be bungy jumping or swimming with Great Whites; anything out of our comfort zone–anything unusual–can be scary. But doing these things widens our horizons. And that’s always a good idea 🙂
    Guilie @ Life In Dogs

    • I’ve never heard that “do something that scares you every day” phrase before, but it does sound like a good reminder to live life instead of just exist. Thank you!

  3. Wow, tis beautiful. I going to look back through your posts now. Your’s is the first art blog i have come across in the a to z

    • Thank you!

Comments

